Denton 2nd Time DWI Lawyer
Skilled 2nd Time DWI Attorneys Serving Denton, Texas
The consequences of having a DWI charge against yourself for the first time are not serious. However, if you are charged for the same offense twice, then you will have to face some serious consequences. Therefore, if you are someone who has a DWI charge alleged against them, then you will have to deal with it seriously and hire a competent lawyer to fight your case immediately, otherwise, you will be punished severely. A Denton 2nd time DWI lawyer like Sanjay Biswas Attorney at Law can provide critical guidance, explaining your options and rights under the law. More importantly, he will work on your behalf to help you achieve the best possible outcome in your case.
What Constitutes DWI Under Denton Law?
Chapter 49 of the Texas Penal Code establishes the definition of intoxication as having a breath or blood alcohol content (BAC) that is above 0.08. Even though the law of Denton has given a clear definition of what amounts to DWI, there are still some police officers who will declare you to be drunk if they suspect you to be drunk. These signs include mental or physical inabilities that people have when being drunk. Thus, an officer can arrest you without even requiring you to take a test.
Punishments For The Second DWI In Denton
It must be kept in mind that your criminal record will be considered when you are being charged with DWI in Denton. In case this is your second DWI charge, then you will have to face serious consequences as compared to those people who are charged with the same offense for the first time in Denton. Punishments for the second DWI in Denton include a fine that would not exceed 4,000 dollars, community service (not more than 200 hours), license suspension, community supervision (not more than 12 months), and jail time as well. The punishments will be even more severe if you were drunk driving in Denton with a child in the vehicle at the time. A fine of not more than 10,000 dollars will be imposed on you and you will get imprisoned for a period that shall not exceed twenty-four months.
How Can Someone Get His Or Her License Back?
It must be noted that the driver’s license will get taken by the Texas Department of Public Safety if you are charged with a DWI offense. Now the question arises that how and when you will get your license back. You will need to hire a lawyer who can fight your case to get your driver’s license back. It is important to protect your rights and freedom. Defending yourself in such cases is important because once you get convicted for such an offense, then you will be facing harsh consequences that can include a fine, bond condition, and imprisonment.
Defenses For The Crime
You should note that there are various defenses that can be used by a lawyer to defend your case of DWI. All these defenses can be used by the lawyer on the basis of the facts. Therefore, it is crucial for you to give all the details to the lawyer that you hire, especially in the case of a commercial DWI.
Speak To A Denton 2nd Time DWI Lawyer
The consequences of a second DWI can be serious. They include both criminal charges that can impact your liberty as well as civil consequences that impact your driving privileges for a period of time. If you are facing 2nd time DWI charges in Denton, then you need to hire competent legal counsel. Contact Denton 2nd time DWI lawyer, Sanjay Biswas who has several years of experience in handling DWI cases.